Uncategorized

My 2016 in Books

This year has absolutely flown by, hasn’t it? Sadly I didn’t get around to reading as many books as I was hoping to, but saying that I am pleased with what I did. This year I got more into graphic novels, as well as discovering books which I now consider some of my all-time favourites. Here’s what I read in 2016…

Books:

  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – 4.5*
  • The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas – 5*
  • Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell – 3*
  • The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams – 4*
  • Attachments by Rainbow Rowell – 4*
  • Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J Maas – 5*
  • The Martian by Andy Weir – 4*
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – 4.5*
  • Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk – 4*
  • The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux – 4*
  • Senlin Ascends by Josiah Bancroft – 5*
  • The Signalman by Charles Dickens – 4*
  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote – 4*

Graphic Novels:

  • Legend: The Graphic Novel by Marie Lu – 3*
  • Lost at Sea by Brian Lee O’Malley – 3*
  • Nimona by Noelle Stevenson – 4*
  • The New Ghost by Robert Hunter – 4*
  • Rat Queens, Vol. 1: Sass & Sorcery by Kurtis J Weibe – 4*
  • Watchmen by Alan Moore – 4*
  • Saga Vol One by Brian K Vaughan – 4*
  • Saga Vol Two by Brian K Vaughan – 5*
  • Saga Vol Three by Brian K Vaughan – 5*
  • Saga Vol Four by Brian K Vaughan – 4*
  • Sag Vol Five by Brian K Vaughan – 5*
  • Saga Vol Six by Brian K Vaughan  – 3*

Total pages: 6,588

There are two which stand out to me from the books I have read this year, the first being The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. This was the first thing I read in 2016, and it set the bar for the rest of the year. It was possibly the most beautiful book I have ever read (even though it tore my heart into a thousand tiny pieces), and instantly became a favourite.

The other was Senlin Ascends by Josiah Bancroft, and I’ll be posting a review in the next few days to talk about why.

What I want to read in 2017

There are so many books in my TBR that I hope I get around to in 2017, here’s just a few I’m looking forward to most!

  • Arm of the Sphinx  (Books of Babel #2) by Josiah Bancroft
  • The Bear and The Nightingale by Katherine Arden (out Jan 10th)
  • Saga Vol. 7 by Brian K Vaughan (out March 28th)
  • Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J Maas
Leave a Reply

