Uncategorized

Reading Slumps

Reading slumps are the worst. If you’ve been victim to one, you’ll know.

Sometimes they hit you right out of the blue, and it’s frustrating because even though you love reading and want to read more, you find yourself struggling to enjoy a book, and that.. well, that’s not good.

So fellow readers, here are some of my tips for times when you are in or falling into a reading slump, that I hope will keep these pesky things away!

.SLUMPP.png

Do not force yourself to read 

If you don’t feel like it – don’t do it! I find that this is one of the most useful ways to overcome a reading slump, by simply taking a break. That book isn’t going to go anywhere, it’s okay to put it down and pick it back up when you feel like it. Try doing something else you enjoy for a while, it could be anything, and after some time away, hopefully you’ll feel a little more up to it! There’s nothing worse than ruining a book you might otherwise love by forcing your way through it.

Read something short, light or easy

Maybe that book you’re reading right now is the exact reason you’re in a slump. Maybe heavy, long novels aren’t what you need at the moment. So why not pick up something up that’s short and light-hearted for now? Contemporaries are my go to type of book when I’m in a slump, as they’re generally quick, easy reads that leave me satisfied. I tend to go for ones that I know will make me laugh, and they’ve been my proven way to get me reading again, as they’re over before you know it.

Less words

If it’s pages and pages of words you can’t stand during your slump, try something with less! Graphic novels perhaps? I find that these a great way as to me they don’t feel like reading, instead I’m watching a story unfold through beautiful artwork. If you’re unsure of what to pick up, I recently did a post on a few I highly recommend, I believe any of these would help get you out of a nasty slump!

Try something new, step out of that comfort zone!

Maybe you stick to the same genre over and over again. You’re starting to get tired of reading similar stories in similar worlds. The answer? Pick up something new! Is there a genre you’ve been interested in but never got around to trying, or an author? Go for it, because you never know, you could love it and want to read more from them, and this may pull you right from your slump.

Stick to what you know

Ok ok, now I know I just said try something new and I did.. BUT if say there’s an author you enjoy, and you’ve loved their previous books, then reading a new book from them might just do the trick! Reading from an author that you know you’re bound to enjoy, and who’s writing excites you is a great way.

Read somewhere new

If your go to reading-spot isn’t inspiring you to read, then take your book somewhere new! Some of my favourite places to read that aren’t my bed or the sofa are coffee shops, book stores, outside in a nice parks or gardens and along the seafront. Sometimes just being outside or in public places makes me want to read more. If you’re in a slump, take your book wherever you go with you anyway, and who knows, you might find yourself reaching in your bag to crack it open sometime!

Surround yourself

Surround yourself with others that are excited about books. If you don’t have people in your life that are, there’s no shortage of us on the internet! Try doing things that inspire you to read, like interacting with book book bloggers online, joining book groups, partaking in a read-a-thon, watching book tubers or even just having a wander around a book store. Being around others who are excited, can help you to get excited again!

Change it up!

It’s surprising how changing something like your reading format can help you get back into reading. I know it has for me! Sometimes I find it easier to read an E-book, whereas other times I prefer physical books or even audio books. Changing it up a bit will make your reading experience a little different and can help a lot.

Recommendations

Last but not least, I’m going to give you a few recommendations that I feel will work wonders in pulling you out of a reading slump, as they have done for me.

  • Senlin Ascends by Josiah Bancroft (Wonderful in every way)
  • Breakfast at Tiffanys by Truman Capote (Fabulous characters, fun story)
  • Saga by Brian K. Vaughan (Weirdly brilliant)
  • Literally anything written by Rainbow Rowell (Just read!)
  • Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (Guaranteed happiness and swooning)
  • Nimona by Noelle Stevenson (Quirky, awesome, a lot of fun!)
  • All our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill (So so clever, and pretty amazing too)
  • Simon Vs. the Homosapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli (Hilarious and heart-warming)

Are you in a reading slump at the moment? How did you get out of one? What books would you recommend? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading, have a wonderful day ♡

Love Lucy

9 thoughts on “Reading Slumps

  1. When I hit a slump, I either re-read my favorites or stick to the history books of which I have a gazillion and am always buying more. FYI: I just went to the To Audrey With Love – Hubert de Givenchy exhibit at the museum here and it featured some of Audrey’s clothes from the Breakfast at Tiffany’s movie. Love that movie!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome! I love hearing what others do when they hit a slump. I agree, re-reading favourites works well! Oh wow I would love to visit there, I’m a huge Audrey fan and of course Breakfast at Tiffany’s is one of my favourites 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You can never watch it too many times! I really enjoyed the book too, I read it in one setting. It does end a little differently, and I have to admit I actually prefer the film’s ending. I definitely recommend giving it a read sometime, it’s very short and a lot of fun

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

