Action · Adventure · Books · Fantasy

Jaeth’s Eye by K.S. Villoso BOOK REVIEW

24234912

Halfway through Jaeth’s Eye and I was convinced this book wasn’t for me. I was confused, frustrated and starting to give up.

60% in and I found it hard to put down.

So yes, it took me over half way to actually start enjoying the book, but in this case that’s not such a bad thing. Because, when I hit the 60% mark, things started to happen. Everything I was confused about started to come together, I started to understand where things were heading, and frustrated as I had been up until that point, I realised that the slow build up and ground work was necessary. I just wish I had enjoyed it more.

And I feel like I must’ve missed something along the way, because even after finishing the book, I’m still not sure I completely understand what really went on and why everything that happened, did?

Jaeth’s Eye is the first book in a fantasy trilogy that revolves around the lives of three characters, and their journey and struggle to keep up with what life throws at them. Keifer is running from his past, Sume has sacrificed her freedom for family, and Ylir is a man who is more than he appears. In your typical fantasy, these would be the minor characters you find in the background, yet here we’re seeing from their point of view, whilst the heroes take a backseat. It’s ambitious and yet it works well. It was refreshing to read a story told differently, and by those we usually forget are also affected by events.

If there’s one thing that stands out about Jaeth’s eye, it’s the characters. Although at first it felt like there were lots to keep up with and I kept forgetting who was who, after a while I came to really care about a handful of them. I admired Sume greatly for her determination to do anything for her loved ones, as well as Kiefer as he tries to make a new life for himself. The character development is so very well executed and was most likely my favourite aspect of the book.

There’s no denying that the world Villoso has created and the plot was incredibly thought out, not to mention fascinating, but with so many names of characters, cultures and places thrown in from the get go, as well as the history, I found it difficult to follow at times. However it was enjoyable getting to know about all of these, and seeing how the different cultures interacted with one another. It’s action-packed and adventurous, that’s for sure, but I really had to concentrate if I wanted any idea of what was happening.

Saying that, nearer the end when things started tying together, I was constantly ooh-ing and ahh-ing when things clicked, and all the connections made sense. And especially at a particular reveal. The best part of it is that I didn’t even see them coming. I was pleasantly surprised, it wasn’t predictable once.

I feel like this is one of those books that you have to patient with if you want to get to the good stuff, because here, the ending chapters really are worth the build up.

Jaeth’s Eye is a promising first book in The Agartes Epilogues, and part of a trilogy you should watch out for. It’s a different take on Fantasy that combines everything you love about the genre. Though it lacks in some areas, it has a lot going for it and I look forward to seeing what’s to come for these characters in the next two books, Aina’s Breath and Sapphire’s Flight (out 5th April 2017!).

3.5 Stars

*I kindly received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review

 

Publication date: 02/09/14

Publisher: World Tree Publishing

Genre: Fantasy

 

Leave a Reply

